Board of Health

2019 Regular Meeting Schedule

January 10, 2019
April 11, 2019
June 13, 2019
September 12, 2019
November 14, 2019

Location: NDDH Conference Room, 69 South Main Street, Unit 4, Brooklyn, CT 06234

January 14, 2019
February 11, 2019
March 11, 2019
April 8, 2019
May 13, 2019
June 10, 2019
August 12, 2019
September 9, 2019
December 9, 2019

January 24, 2019
February 14, 2019
March 14, 2019
March 28, 2019
April 4, 2019
June 6, 2019
September 5, 2019
October 10, 2019
November 7, 2019
December 12, 2019

February 12, 2019
March 12, 2019
April 8, 2019
October 8, 2019
December 10, 2019

Click here to view  Board Meeting Agendas/Minutes.

NDDH Strategic Plan - Updated September, 2019

Grants Report - Updated September, 2019

2018 NDDH Community Health Needs Assessment 

For questions or comments on the NDDH Community Health Needs Assessment email

FY 2018 NDDH Town Annual Reports

Town of Brooklyn Town of Pomfret
Town of Canterbury Town of Putnam
Town of Eastford Town of Sterling
Town of Hampton Town of Thompson
Town of Killingly Town of Union
Town of Plainfield Town of Woodstock


Board of Directors

NDDH is governed by the Board of Health, comprised of representatives of the towns we serve. The number of representatives is determined by each town’s population. The Director of Health, Susan Starkey, MPH, MS, RD, is a non-voting member of the Board and serves as its Secretary/Treasurer.

BrooklynRobert KelleherFinance
Rick Ives (Alt)
CanterburyLuther ThurlowFinance; Quality Improvement
Jack Tucker (Alt)
EastfordDeborah Richards
Paul Torcellini (Alt)
HamptonRobert GrindleUnion Negotiation
Edward Burchfield (Alt)
KillinglyDavid A. GriffithsBoard Chair; Executive; Ad-Hoc: Personnel; Bylaws; Finance; Union Negotiation
Heidi CliffordExecutive Committee Vice Chair
Vacancy (Killingly Alt)
Elaine Lippke (Borough of Danielson)Finance (Interim Chair); Executive; Quality Improvement; Union Negotiations Chair
Vincent Iannuzzi (Danielson Alt)
PlainfieldDonald GladdingBy-Laws
Robert KerrUnion Negotiation
Vacancy (Alt)
PomfretDonna Grant
Vacancy (Alt)
PutnamBarney Seney Jr
Vacancy (Alt)
SterlingLana SalisburyBy-Laws; Ordinances
Vacancy (Alt)
ThompsonDelpha VeryQuality Improvement Chair
Orla McKiernan-Raftery (Alt)Finance
UnionNathan SwiftFinance
David Heck (Alt)
WoodstockDr. Gail Dickinson
Robert Andrews (Alt)

Six Governance Functions of a Local Board of Health according to the Connecticut Association of Boards of Health:

  1. Policy development: Lead and contribute to the development of policies that protect, promote, and improve public health while ensuring that the agency and its components remain consistent with the laws and rules (local, state, and federal) to which it is subject.
  2. Resource stewardship: Assure the availability of adequate resources (legal, financial, human, technological, and material) to perform essential public health services.
  3. Legal authority: Exercise legal authority as applicable by law and understand the roles, responsibilities, obligations, and functions of the governing body, health officer, and agency staff.
  4. Partner engagement: Build and strengthen community partnerships through education and engagement to ensure the collaboration of all relevant stakeholders in promoting and protecting the community's health.
  5. Continuous improvement: Routinely evaluate, monitor, and set measurable outcomes for improving community health status and the public health agency's/governing body's own ability to meet its responsibilities.
  6. Oversight: Assume ultimate responsibility for public health performance in the community by providing necessary leadership and guidance in order to support the public health agency in achieving measurable outcomes.